Join   |   Create Account   |   Print Page   |   Sign In
Thursday, September 24, Schedule
Schedule
Thursday, September 24, 2020

Please note the following abbreviations are referenced throughout the schedule:
LEVEL: I = Intermediate, A = Advanced, S = Senior
TRACK: CLIN = Clinical, DMS = Directors, Managers and Supervisors, RES = Research and Evaluation, EX = Executive, FP = Foster Parents and Foster Parent Trainers
E Sessions – 1.5 Hours
10:00 a.m. EDT, 9:00 a.m. CDT, 8:00 a.m. MDT, 7:00 a.m. PDT, 6:00 a.m. AKDT

E 1 The Three R's of Trauma Transformation

I/CLIN, FP

Explore the skills needed for staff and treatment foster parents to make the change to a continual process of trauma-informed thinking. Using the three Rs - reframing, relabeling and reinforcing - we will look at the process of moving from a traditional, neuro-typical approach to understanding children, to one rooted in a trauma sensitive mindset. You will be able to evaluate your own level of trauma transformation and create a plan for further development.

Julie Lennon, MSW, LSW, The MENTOR Network

E 2 Complex Trauma and Commercial Sexual Exploitation: Implications for Family-based Treatment Interventions

I/FP, CLIN

Explore the role of childhood trauma in shaping vulnerability to commercial sexual exploitation of children (CSEC), and how family-based treatment can best respond to the needs of CSEC victims through a trauma-informed approach. Review the connection between behavioral health, complex trauma histories and vulnerability to exploitation. Discussions will focus on implications for treatment, what it means to provide trauma-informed care, the role of family supports in treatment and the effectiveness of this treatment approach.

Melissa Johnson, MA, MPH, Department of Child and Family Studies - Louis de la Parte Florida Mental Health Institute and Gihan Omar, PsyD, Citrus Health Network

E 3 Permanency Planning for the Impermanent: Immigrant Children and Foster Care

I/DMS, CLIN

Facilitators will share best practices and ideas on how to better serve noncitizen children and their families. Foster care aims to provide a safe and stable home for every child, and while immigration uncertainty may impede the process, we can still work towards positive outcomes for immigrant children. This interactive and engaging workshop will incorporate audience participation.

Teri Husfloen, MS & Ashley Hunter, United States Conference of Catholic Bishops - Migration and Refugee Services

E 4 Understanding a Child’s Placement Journey: An Experiential Drama

I, A/CLIN, FP

Engage in an interactive activity to illustrate the experience(s) of a young person from conception to placement. This dramatic reenactment will create the context for discussion regarding the impact of traumatic events that occur during a youth’s developmental years. Draw from your own experience to help construct the drama and discuss the key considerations for providing effective TFC services. Leave with a tool to better help you prepare prospective resource parents for their first placement.

Michael Kaelin, MS & Paul Wolfe, Pressley Ridge

F Sessions – 1.5 Hours
11:45 a.m. EDT, 10:45 a.m. CDT, 9:45 a.m. MDT, 8:45 a.m. PDT, 7:45 a.m. AKDT

F 1 Public Policy Issues Impacting Treatment Family Care

A, S/EX

Explore current policy developments and Federal legislation impacting treatment foster care and other treatment family care (TFC) programs. We will present details on the Family First Prevention Services Act (FFPSA), the Family First Transition Act (FFTA), The Prevention Services Clearinghouse, and other topics impacting agencies providing treatment services. Receive timely information on Federal guidance for FFPSA and learn implementation strategies currently underway. We will also update you on FFTA’s public policy goals for the coming year.

Treva Johnson, Family Focused Treatment Association

F 2 "Stop that or else!" Responding Therapeutically to Misbehavior

I/CLIN, FP

"If your only tool’s a hammer, everything looks like a nail," Abraham Maslow observed. When frustrated foster parents are confronted with manipulation, disrespect and defiance, it can be easy to rely on punitive consequences, hoping to "pound" misbehavior into compliance. Behaviors exhibited by children in foster care, however, seldom have simple sources or solutions, and excessive punishment can backfire, causing even more trauma. Discover a powerful model for therapeutic decision-making and then learn specific behavioral and trauma-informed strategies.

Steve Parese, Ed.D., TACT2 Training

F 3 Forget Everything You Know: Co-Parenting to Co-Mentoring

I, A, S/DMS, FP

What happens to youth with both a mental health and developmental disability diagnosis when they transition out of care? Historically, youth with dual diagnoses only qualify for a Developmental Disability (DD) waiver if they have a certain IQ and the developmental disability is their primary diagnosis. What happens to youth who need additional services, but do not qualify for a DD waiver? We will introduce Creative Community Services' transitional program, which was developed to change the perspective from Co-Parenting to Co-Mentoring.

Quinterra Wright & Sally Buchanan, Creative Community Services, Inc.

F 4 Logic Models: An Effective Tool for Program Development and Management

I, A, S/DMS, EX

Review the benefits of using logic models as a visual representation of the scope and purpose of human service programs. As COA continues to advance quality improvement to support organizations in providing efficient and effective services to its consumers, logic models can help organizations synthesize their work and ensure that their activities are closely related to their impact on consumers and the communities they serve.

Kerry Deas, LMSW, Council on Accreditation

G Sessions – 1.5 Hours
1:30 p.m. EDT, 12:30 p.m. CDT, 11:30 a.m. MDT, 10:30 a.m. PDT, 9:30 a.m. AKDT

G 1 Looking Beyond ACEs: The Trauma of Racism and Discrimination

I, A, S/DMS, CLIN

While there are many forms of adversity and trauma, racism has the farthest reach, and harms and impacts the greatest number of individuals. It is often unaddressed in efforts to mitigate the effects of stress, adversity and trauma. When we dismantle racism, we can begin to dismantle adversity, trauma, inequity and discrimination. Explore practices that pose a risk of racial and discriminatory re-traumatization and learn practice tools to dismantle racism and discrimination as an essential element of trauma-informed practice.

Allison Sturtevant-Gilliam, BSW, Children's Home Society of NC, and Aisha Shepard, BSW, Buncombe County Government - Community Engagement Team, and Alice Dixson, CPSS and Kristin Wilson, MSW, LCSW Buncombe County DHHS, and Marta Alcala-Williams Asheville City Schools, Michael Hayes, NCCPS, Umoja Health Wellness and Justice Collective

G 2 Trauma-Informed Supervision: Use of Reflective Practice Approaches in Treatment Foster Care

A/CLIN, DMS

Implementation of trauma-informed services requires additional supervisory strategies in order to support staff development, as well as reduce burnout and high turnover. Reflective Supervision is a component of trauma-informed work that offers a consistent approach to increase staff opportunities and capacity for self-reflection, self-awareness, and collaborative problem solving. This workshop offers a framework to consistently incorporate role clarity, values orientation, cultural competence, trauma responsiveness, strength-based practice and reflection into a supervisory foundation that has a developmental, task-centered approach.

Cathy Cave & Michael Johnan, Inspired Vision, LLC

G 3 Problem Sexual Behaviors of Children: Proven Help and Resources

I, A, S/CLIN, FP

Exposure to violence and maltreatment can lead to a range of problematic behaviors for children. Among the behaviors causing great distress for caregivers, caseworkers and clinicians - as well as disruption in the lives of children - are problem sexual behaviors (PSB). Learn about PSB versus typical sexual behaviors and receive guidance on which treatments help to reduce these behaviors. We will also introduce and provide access to a new book that can be used as a resource when working with children exhibiting problem sexual behaviors.

Roy Van Tassell, LPC, Centene Health

G 4 A Community Collaboration Model for Implementing FFPSA

A, S/EX, DMS

Under the umbrella of the public-private collaborative “Children’s Services Network Council” (CSN), San Luis Obispo County has launched numerous family-based programs that have reduced group home placements by 75%. This workshop will discuss how the CSN collaborative serves as a platform for launching family-based services required under FFPSA. Topics will include: collaboration building, managing public-private relationships, shared leadership, risk and liability, managing change and problem solving, integrating funding streams and resources, creating shared-outcomes, maintaining a “shared-vision,” best practices and fidelity, and promoting innovation.

Jim Roberts & Jon Nibbio, Family Care Network, and Devin Drake, San Luis Obispo Department of Social Services

H Sessions – 1 Hour
3:45 p.m. EDT, 2:45 p.m. CDT, 1:45 p.m. MDT, 12:45 p.m. PDT, 11:45 a.m. AKDT

H 1 Creating a Healthy Organizational Culture

I, A, S/DMS, EX

Child welfare organizations are faced with many challenges in providing impact producing results for children and families. Organizations face high turnover, continual struggles for funding, and intense regulatory oversight that can create havoc for employees and overall culture. Based on the book "The Advantage" by Patrick Lencioni, this workshop will make the case for transforming your organization’s culture and unleashing the power of your most valuable asset... Gung Ho employees.

Scott Lundy & Jay Pruett, Arrow Child and Family Ministries

H 2 Walking Foster Families Through Grief and Loss

I/FP

We will equip you with the tools and resources needed to help foster families experiencing grief and loss related to their role in foster care. This session will use the research surrounding ambiguous loss and disenfranchised grief to help participants better understand, and validate, this type of grief. We will provide a script for you to work with foster parents who are navigating their complex, and sometimes temporary, role in a foster child’s life. Resources specific to spiritual support will also be provided.

Lindsey Martin, LCSW & Katrina Campbell, FaithBridge Foster Care

H 3 Applying Assessments to Enhance Placements and Care Team Functioning

I/CLIN, DMS

Few efforts have been made to explore the cross-system application of clinical mental health assessments for youth in foster care. Explore a county-wide assessment program in Mecklenburg County, North Carolina from the perspectives of multiple system partners which will underscores the key driving factors in the successful development of such programs. The case studies presented will highlight how these tools can enhance foster parent relationships and care team functioning, and meaningfully link youth to services and supports.

Jennifer Thomas, PhD & Katherine Hogan, PhD, Teen Health Connection, and Aalece Pugh-Lilly, PhD, Department of Social Services, Clinical & Contractual Services, and Denise Steele-Campbell, MA, Youth and Family Services Division

H 4 Data-Informed Practices for Supporting Treatment Parents in their Professional Roles

I, A, S/DMS, RES

Review results from a longitudinal study that examined the effectiveness of pre-service trainings designed specifically for treatment foster parents as a supportive strategy in preparing them for their therapeutic roles. The effectiveness of pre-service trainings was measured by assessments completed at three different time points. Once licensed, treatment parents were provided with additional strategies in order to reinforce the skills taught in pre-service training. Discuss the findings of this study and the implications for incorporating these results into everyday practice.

April Wall-Parker, MS, Amy Strickler, Ph.D. & Karen Celedonia, MPH, Pressley Ridge

I Sessions – 1 Hour
5:00 p.m. EDT, 4:00 p.m. CDT, 3:00 p.m. MDT, 2:00 p.m. PDT. 1:00 p.m. AKDT

I 1 Aligning Recruitment to Connect with Current Decision-Making Trends

I, A/DMS

Learn from the presenter who has been remarkably successful in recruiting new resource families by departing from traditional approaches to marketing and researching what efforts actually work and why. This strategic approach produced 20-30% annual growth in recruitment in 2014-16. Learn creative ideas, discover insights to engage with prospective parents at a deeper level, and discover the three primary factors influencing their current decision-making.

Mike Logan, Jack Witt & Erica Fulton, Children First Foster Family Agency

I 2 Ethical Considerations While Using Instagram, Facebook and Technology

I/CLIN

Have you looked your clients up on social media? Are you friends with your clients on Instagram? Do you FaceTime your clients? With technology ever changing, are you considering the ethical guidelines surrounding client interactions? This workshop creates conversation regarding the do’s and don’ts when engaging with clients on social media and through technology. Come enjoy this interactive experience and learn ethical considerations when using technology in social work practice.

Tymel Cason, LICSW, LCSW-C & Brittany Livingston, LICSW, LCSW-C, National Center for Children and Families

I 3 Guidelines for Serving Transgender Youth in Rural Mental Health Settings

I, A/CLIN, DMS

Serving transgender youth in a rural mental health setting is rewarding and more than possible, but there are challenges and obstacles. Review terms associated with the transgender community and best practices when serving transgender youth. Identify local and national resources when working with transgender youth and the LGBTQ+ community.

Lila Vest, MS, LPC & Eli Evans, Youth Advocates of Sitka, Inc.

I 4 Nature as Healer: Accessing the Power of the Natural World

I/CLIN, FP

Nature as a prescription? Heck yeah! Come explore ways you can tap into the healing benefits of nature for yourself and the individuals you serve. Gain an understanding of nature's role in helping us to achieve calm and focus, how to incorporate nature prescriptions in treatment planning, and the issues of equity and inclusion in relation to accessibility of outdoor spaces. We will make the case for incorporating nature into your work as a tool for health and healing.

Patsy Sellars, MSW & Sonny LaForm, MSW, Casey Family Programs

J Sessions – 1 Hour
6:15 p.m. EDT, 5:15 p.m. CDT, 4:15 p.m. MDT, 3:15 p.m. PDT, 2:15 AKDT

J 1 Fostering Healthy Futures: An Innovative Approach to Family Engagement Through Youth Mentoring

I, A/DMS, CLIN

Fostering Healthy Futures (FHF) is a trauma-informed, evidence-based program for preadolescent children in out-of-home care, designed to promote a child’s well-being through weekly skills groups and individual mentoring. The quantitative and qualitative findings suggest that families who participate in FHF experience high levels of program engagement, and the research illustrates higher rates of reunification and permanency for children who participate. Using pictures, quotes and statistics, this workshop will highlight a non-traditional approach to family engagement demonstrated to improve both child well-being and permanency.

Robyn Wertheimer-Hodas, Fostering Healthy Futures - The Kempe Center

J 2 Refugee and Immigrant Youth in Foster Care

I/CLIN, FP

Children and youth from refugee and immigrant families bring unique barriers when entering and navigating the foster care system. Explore real life examples of barriers faced by these families and some concrete ways to overcome the cultural and linguistic issues these families may face.

Dr. William Holmes, M.Div, MD & Paige Kolok, MSSW, CSW, CCM, Evolent Health

J 3 Making the Most of NTI: Coaching & Supervision for Mental Health Professionals

I, A, S/DMS, CLIN

The professionals serving families connected to adoption often have a limited understanding of the complexities that contribute to the difficulties experienced by this population, including trauma, loss and identity. Participants will learn about NTI, the evidence-informed, web-based adoption mental health competency training developed by C.A.S.E. This presentation will focus on supervision approaches to ensure that knowledge and skills are transferred successfully into daily practice. This interactive presentation will also demonstrate key tools to aid in successful implementation, coaching, supervision and transfer of learning.

Lisa Maynard, LMSW & Edna Davis-Brown, MPH, Center for Adoption Support and Education

J 4 Music Therapy - Helping Youth Reach a Higher Note

I/CLIN

Music Therapy, a credentialed profession in which evidence-based music therapy interventions are used to reach a client’s clinical goals, can be used to assist individuals with emotional trauma develop skills useful for their everyday life. Some common needs addressed during music therapy sessions include developing self-regulation, communication and social interaction skills, which may have been impacted as a result of traumatic experiences or diagnoses.

Mark Williams, MT-BC, Denali Family Services

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal