Join   |   Create Account   |   Print Page   |   Sign In
Keynote Address 2020
KEYNOTE SERIES:
Racial Disproportionality and Inequity in Child Welfare

This Keynote series is designed to address racial disproportionality and inequity in child welfare. We have come to a remarkable moment in history where consciousness of wide spread racism has never been more salient. We have a unique responsibility to build on this momentum and do the work to address the systemic racism that disadvantages children that we serve. Dr. Ralph Bayard will begin with a discussion of the macro-level elements of the widespread problem of disproportionality and inequity. Dr. Bayard describes himself as cautiously optimistic that society is ready and willing to implement change. We have all seen protests and marches before, and we have too often allowed those to pass without building the transformational change that is necessary. Dr. Jessica Pryce, informed by her years of research and expertise in the field, will offer concrete strategies that you and your agency can implement to directly address racial disparity. We will conclude this series with a talk from motivational speaker Jamerika Haynes, B.A. Jamerika will share her experience as a youth in care. Her journey will inspire you to build stronger connections with the young people that you serve. We are honored to be able to celebrate amazing youth who achieve success after foster care. However, there is still a lot of work to do in order to make success stories like Jamerika’ s a reality for each and every one of the children we serve. Please join us for this vital conversation and commit with us to continue to do the critical work to address the racism that has been perpetuated in our society for far too long.


Understanding Disproportionality and Inequity from a Systems Perspective

Dr. Ralph Bayard

Understanding, addressing and eliminating racial disproportionality and disparities in the child welfare system, attempts to incapsulate the goal of transforming a system where child outcomes are not predictable by race. What are racial disproportionalities and disparities? What does the data tell us about who's in care? Why does it exist?

What can be done to eliminate and/or at least reduce racial disproportionality and disparities in the child welfare system and why it's important to do so?


Impactful Strategies to Drive Change

Dr. Jessica Pryce

In this solution-focused keynote address, Dr. Pryce describes strategies that agencies can implement to impact racial disparity and disproportionality in child welfare. She will discuss the necessity of courageous leadership that makes way for anti-racist and anti-oppressive policies and procedures. She will also include the role of community partners and mental health providers in the anti-racist work of child and family wellbeing.


The Difference

Jamerika Haynes, B.A.

Foster Care Alumna Jamerika Haynes shares how resilience is more than survival. Instead she emphasizes the importance of service providers' behaviors which can inspire positive outcomes from clients. In spite of her challenges, Jamerika was a gifted student who excelled in school. She graduated from Washington State University with a B.A. in Communication with an emphasis in Broadcast News. Audience members will have the chance to get to know Jamerika as she shares what made a difference in her life while growing up in foster care.


Sponsored By:


Register for the Conference


This Keynote Event is scheduled to take place at the FFTA Virtual Conference

Wednesday, September 23rd

First Screening: 10:00 am - 11:30 am EDT/ 9:00 am - 10:30 am CDT/ 8:00 am - 9:30am MDT/ 7:00 am - 8:30 am PDT / 6:00 am - 7:30 am AKDT

Second Screening: 6:15 pm – 7:45 pm EDT/ 5:15 pm - 6:45 pm CDT/ 4:15 pm - 5:45 pm MDT/ 3:15 pm - 4:45 pm PDT / 2:15 pm - 3:45 pm AKDT/ 1:15 pm - 2:45 pm HDT

Both Screenings will be followed by a live Question and Answer Session
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal